Author Topic: Excited, for Unreal engine!  (Read 315 times)

Offline Tsuna_Yoshi

• Green Level
  • Candies: 37
    • DeviantArt - SetsunaDamius
  • Fursona Species: Kobold
Excited, for Unreal engine!
« on: February 17, 2016, 09:44:38 pm »
 I just downloaded unreal engine! I'm not going to touch it just yet, (busy at school and stuff!) But, if anyone's ever used it (After all it's kinda 'free'), any tips for a complete newbie, that wants to make a 2D game?
  • Pronouns: him, he, his.
Taking requests, send PM if interested.

Offline TodTheFox

• Licensed Lazy Loiterer
  • Green Level
  • Candies: 49
  • Fursona Species: Red Fox
Re: Excited, for Unreal engine!
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2016, 04:44:58 pm »
Last I checked the Unreal engine was pretty far from a good starting point in Game Development (assuming you're just starting out). I admit that was a long time ago but I personally recommend the Unity engine over Unreal as I feel it's much more User-Friendly especially to new Developers. While both Engines are really massive and intended for Industry proffesionals I find that Unity's support for Javascript (A fairly easy programming language to get started with and learn quickly) and intuitive interface makes it a much more appealing option for new Developers. Not to mention the expansive Unity asset store which can provide you with the game assets you need to push forward your practice projects and the great expanse of Tutorials available which teach usage of Unity for young Developers looking to get a start in the industry (several of which are actually created by the Unity Team).

But again I don't know a lot about Unreal so this really comes down to personal preference however if you are struggling with Unreal be sure to consider switching to Unity. I wish you the best of luck in your journey through Game Development.

~Tod
  • Pride Flag - asexual
  • Pronouns: He/Him/His

Offline Tsuna_Yoshi

• Green Level
  • Candies: 37
    • DeviantArt - SetsunaDamius