Author Topic: Why do you play your instrument? A.K.A: Your musical history  (Read 800 times)

Offline Zenith Decrowe

• Bold as Love
  • Green Level
  • Candies: 42
  • Not a chicken
    • FurAffinity - zeniththecrow
  • Fursona Species: Crow
Why do you play your instrument? A.K.A: Your musical history
« on: September 11, 2010, 02:47:53 am »
So musicians, why do you do what you do?  What got you started or made you pick up your instrument?  Why do you keep playing today?

My story...  Hmmm...  I can say that I started my musical upbringing the opposite of most people.  While some people start to play their instrument to be like their idols or famous, I started without any of those motivations and then found them later.  I started playing the guitar when I was young (about 9-10).  I really didn't and still don't know why I started to play the guitar.  I just felt like playing it one day and I asked my parents to but a cheap one for me for my birthday.  I started out by taking guitar lessons at a place across the street next to my old apartment.  That's where I got my roots in classical training.  I really didn't want to play a "grandpas guitars" (cookie for reference!) but they insisted that I start leaning classically.  I got pretty well at classical music (I started reading Tarrega stuff) and it helped me learn my fingering and stuff, but classical guitar wasn't for me.  It all changed when I got my first electric guitar for my 11th or 12th birthday.  I quit lessons for about 2 years to focus on my own playing.  Then I started electric guitar lessons at the same place, where I learned theory as opposed to technique.  There, I found some of my first inspirations.  Jimi Hendrix was one of them.  I eventually learned most of his songs and craved more.  This led me to find other guitar virtuosos such as Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, Paul Gilbert, Shawn Lane, etc.  I'm currently learning some of their songs now.