Help >> Content Management

Content Management Help

Q: What does the Time Display option do?
A: To cater to a variety of implementations, content creators can choose the primary timestamp for each article to display the time the article was created ("Posted"), or the time the article was last modified. Since the last-modified timestamp cannot be changed, and the posted timestamp can, this toggle setting is helpful for content creators who wish to manually enter the date and time that visitors viewing the article see, as well as benefitting creators who may not wish to have the modification time visible on a frequently-updated article. Both timestamps are still associated with the file, and can be viewed by the article owner, as well as site admins, site staff, and in some installations, logged-in users. However, to anonymous site visitors and search-engine spiders, only the timestamp selected with this setting will be visible.